A Writing Rose

Santuary for Women

Mental Illness and Writing

Mental Illness and Writing is an interesting title. It is amazing how much mental illness in a family can shut down the normal every day routine.

In the last two months, two of my adult children attempted suicide. Both were hospitalized.

Both events traumatized me. More than I thought they would. I’m still in recovery mode. I am firmly convinced that those who attempt suicide or commit suicide do not understand the toll it takes on family and friends.

My summer has been paralyzed with recovering from their selfish acts. They seem to think it was no big deal. Me…not so much. My writing has taken a hit, I have no energy, and remain on high alert at all times.

Recently I started taking more vitamins and minerals. That seems to be helping some.

So if you are a parent of a mentally ill adult child, remember to take care of yourself too.

Rose

 

Leave a Reply

