A Writing Rose

Santuary for Women

Attempted Sucide and Mental Illness

I sit in my room and cry. My son’s mental illness has torn the family I spent a life time creating-apart. It is not my son’s fault. Mental illness is excruciating to deal with. I don’t know what it is like to live with a mental illness.

But I do know what it is like to be a caregiver and mother of a mentally ill adult child.

I would define my load as:

Draining

Discouraging

Empty

I feel so helpless.

 

I took the Family to Family classes offered by NAMI. The classes were so helpful and fortunately in between my son’s latest episodes.

Last week he almost took his life and landed in the hospital for five days. He came home on meds, a list of appointments with therapists, the hospital, and other resources. To date, he has done nothing, because in his eyes, he doesn’t have a problem.

Yesterday I was at a writing conference and my oldest son called me at 2 a.m. and asked permission to call 911. I granted that permission and even talked to an officer to confirm the need for their services. My mentally ill son needed help. The drama never ends. We needed police intervention to keep the peace at home.

This morning I found the NAMI blog. I’d recommend it to anyone who lives with a mentally ill person, someone who lives with mental illness, or anyone who knows someone with a mental illness.

I might even write a book on my family’s experience with mental illness.

I have been trying to get my house ready for the market, sell it, and move away. This impending move is to force self-sufficiency in several of my adult kids lives. The one I’m most worried about is the son with mental illness.

But I digress, to find more information about mental illness and to read the NAMI blog, click here.

Rose

Leave a Reply

