A Writing Rose

Santuary for Women

The Timer

Hi,

I have a free-spirit problem. I can get involved in tasks I like such as baking cookies or writing on my new novel. I manage to get the fun stuff done.

The not-so fun stuff such as trying to wrap my brain around learning deep point-of-view in writing or scrubbing the bathroom just doesn’t happen.

I’m enlisting my little helper again.

003

I set it in 5, 10, or 15 minute increments and work on those not so fun tasks. At the end of the day, I am not as frustrated in what I did not get accomplished.

The moral of the story, it is better to spend a few minutes each day making progress on the less fun activities. Eventually all the projects and chores will get done.

I like this system better. I can sleep at night knowing that I have at least dealt with mundane things like bills, social media stuff, and chores on some level.

What things do you do that helps you get your tasks accomplished?

Rose

Leave a Reply

